Women Before 10am // Ashley

June 23, 2015

In this series we are speaking to inspiring modern women and having them share their morning rituals and secrets with us. Take a peek into the mornings of Ashley, who is a mother of 2 kids (and many animals), living on her 50 acre farm in rural Ontario, Canada.women_before_10_jaluneunnamed (3)Tell us about yourself.

 

I live in the same rural community I was raised in, which is Bruce County, Ontario. I’ve travelled lots but found no place I’d rather be, except for the six months of winter we get. I operate a small farm, own a tattoo shop, and homeschool my two children who are 7 & 8 years old. I occasionally blog at Twwly and my Instagram is under the same name.

 

I did not grow up on a farm, but it’s rural here in Bruce County. I did 4H and entertained notions of becoming a vet. I wound up going down the arts path instead and getting bitten by the travel bug. It distracted me for some time, but I’m glad for it. I don’t even like driving 20 minutes to town now.

 

I moved home to a hamlet of about 12 people and 12,000 chickens from Philadelphia. I had never really seen an industrial chicken barn before, and after living beside one, I knew I could never eat bought chicken again. Whenever it’s cooked, all I can smell is the smell of that barn. The tang of feces and the sweet raw edge of decomposition. I brought my son home from the hospital a year to the day after our first date, so we got skippy and started with chickens and it just went from there. We raise enough to feed ourselves and sell enough to just cover that expense.

 

What time do you wake up in the morning?

 

I get up around 7:30am. I often sleep in my clothes, so I just need to throw jeans or coveralls on and I’m good to go. I make myself a Buzz pre­workout drink and head right out to do farm chores while my kids fetch their breakfast. When they’re done eating, they’ll come out and finish chores with me. I get my kids set up for homeschool while I make coffee and eat some kippered herring from a tin. Then I work out while they work, 10 minutes of cardio and 30­40 minutes of weights.

 

What’s your coffee / coffee drink of choice?

 

I drink Ethiopian Yirgacheffe from my french press, with two heaping spoons of sugar and a glug of jersey milk*.

*We had Ashley explain to us what jersey milk was; jersey being a specific breed of dairy cow. Here’s what she said: ­ Store milk traditionally is from holstein (cows), they’re known for volume. The saying goes, “why does a dairy farmer keep a holstein?” and the answer is “in case the well runs dry.” The holstein milk is watery, jersey milk is creamy. It’s not mine though, my little bottle calf is Dexter, and a male, for meat. But it’s from a nearby jersey creamery, sold in glass bottles to boot. ;)

unnamed (1)

What’s been a favorite or coveted place of yours to enjoy a cup of coffee?

 

I enjoy my coffee best in any reclined position. Ideally on my couch, with my shepherd at my feet.

 

What’s the last thing that inspired you?

 

I just got PeachTeats for rearing my bottle calf. The flow control and valve system are really inventive, and I spent the better part of the morning marveling at what they’ve developed. I hope they become standard use. Someone recommended it to me on Instagram, and I’m so glad I hunted it down. It’s brilliant.

Twwly-Horsies11_web

What’s a favorite morning beauty, food, or get moving tip you may have?

 

I have a lot to do as soon as I wake up. I need to be alert in the barn to stay safe, and I have found that EHP Labs pre-workout is a fantastic boost.

 

How do you relax/take time for yourself daily?

 

Sitting for a coffee is my down time. I don’t do a lot of sitting.

 

What does your ideal day of rest look like?

 

My ideal day is when my friend Meghan sleeps over and helps with chores in the morning. I enjoy our irreverent banter while we work. Then an afternoon outside, with ATVs, firearms and a eventually BBQ and big ol’ bonfire with my husband home.